Upcoming Events

Friday, 17 June 2022 14:23

NARSC 2022 Call for Papers, Registration, and more!




NARSC Update



Call for Papers – North American Meetings of the Regional Science Association International, Montreal, Canada, November 9-12, 2022



Join us in Montreal, Canada for the 69th North American Meetings of the Regional Science Association International (RSAI) sponsored by the North American Regional Science Council (NARSC) and co-hosted by the Canadian Regional Science Association.  The deadline for submission of abstracts is July 1. The conference will be held at the beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton in downtown Montreal, November 9-12. The conference hotel is connected to Palais des congrès, Complexe Desjardins, and Place des Arts. It is located close to Old Montreal, Sainte-Catherine Street’s shopping, the local food scene and steps away from Place des Festivals.

A block of rooms has been reserved at the DoubleTree by Hilton at a specially negotiated rate of C$229 (plus applicable taxes and fees) for a double-occupancy room. Please book the conference hotel through the NARSC website.  By doing so, NARSC will get credit for your booking.  You can book your room at the conference hotel using this link.

For more information, go to the conference page.

To register, go to the registration page.


NARSC 2022 Special Sessions

Be sure and check out the calls for Special Session on the NARSC website. Here is are some of the calls now available:

Industry Clusters, Agglomeration Economies and Proximity Spatial Methods

Regional/Rural Development Session

Location and Spatial Analysis

Honoring and Celebrating Arthur Getis, A LEGEND in Spatial Analysis

Transportation Accessibility, Socioeconomic Impacts, and the COVID-19 Pandemic

Machine Learning in Regional Science- Perspectives, Methods, and Applications

Perspectives on GeoComputation Approaches for Urban and Regional Systems


NARSC Honors Committee is Soliciting Nominations for Awards

The Honors Committee of the North American Regional Science Council is soliciting nominations for the following awards to be given at this year's annual meeting:

1.  Isard Award for Scholarly Achievement in Regional Science

The Walter Isard Award for Scholarly Achievement is named in honor of Professor Walter Isard, father of Regional Science, founder of the Regional Science Association, and a leading scholar in the worldwide Regional Science community. Established in 1994, the award pays tribute to North American regional scientists who have made significant theoretical and methodological contributions to the field of Regional Science throughout their careers. The list of past winners of the Isard Award can be found here.  

2.  Boyce Award for Distinguished Service to Regional Science

This award honors Professor David Boyce, a prominent figure in Regional Science who promoted the Regional Science Association for a number of years and was instrumental in its long-term success. The award acknowledges the service contributions that North American members have made to Regional Science organizations. The list of past winners of the Boyce Award can be found here.

3.  Hewings Award for Outstanding Achievement by a "Junior" Faculty

This award is named in honor of Professor Geoffrey J.D. Hewings who over the years introduced numerous graduate students to Regional Science and mentored them as young scholars. The award recognizes distinguished contributions to Regional Science research by North American scholars who have recently completed doctoral studies (within ten years of receiving a Ph.D.). The list of past winners of the Hewings Award can be found here.

4. Roger R. Stough Outstanding Mentor Award

This award is named in honor of Professor Roger R. Stough. In addition to being a renowned scholar and contributor to the development of Regional Science, Roger was an outstanding mentor to dozens of graduate students and junior faculty members. This award recognizes regional scientists who have been exceptional mentors to students, junior faculty members and underrepresented populations and communities over a lifelong career. The list of past winners of the Stough Award can be found here.

Please send your nomination(s) by September 20th to Steven Deller (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.). 


NARSC Newsletter June 2022

The June 2022 issue of the NARSC newsletter is now available here. Read past issues on the website.


Read 1638 times

About Us

The Regional Science Association International (RSAI), founded in 1954, is an international community of scholars interested in the regional impacts of national or global processes of economic and social change.

Get In Touch

Regional Science Association International
University of Azores, Oficce 155-156, Rua Capitão João D'Ávila, 9700-042 Angra do Heroísmo, Azores, Portugal

Hit Counter

This week15121
This month124106

Wednesday, 28 February 2024