Awards & Prizes

Wednesday, 26 April 2023 08:25

NARSC Update | Seohee Kim Wins 23rd Benjamin H. Stevens Fellowship

Seohee Kim, a Ph.D. candidate in Economics at Duke University has been selected as the winner of the 23 rd Annual Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship in Regional Science. The Fellowship will provide a 2023–2024 Academic Year stipend of $30,000 to support Ms. Kim’s dissertation research on “National Homebuilders’ Internal Capital Networks and Local Housing Outcomes.”

Ms. Kim’s research investigates how local housing shocks propagate across US regions through homebuilders' internal capital markets and spillovers to competing builders. Despite their importance in the provision of affordable housing, there has been a scarcity of research on modeling the supply side of new housing markets, particularly the behavior of large national homebuilders. This is due to the difficulty of assembling data on the production network and
outcomes, and also the lack of fundamental understanding of the nature of competition among builders. Her research quantifies the aggregate and distributional impact of rising homebuilding industry concentration and presents the results of a counterfactual scenario in which financial frictions for corporate homebuilders are eliminated. Ms. Kim’s doctorial research is supervised
by Daniel Yi Xu, Professor of Economics at Duke University.

In addition to selecting the Fellowship recipient, the Selection Committee identified three applicants as meriting special recognition as finalists in the 23rd Annual Competition: Laura Weiwu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, advised by David Donaldson; Kate Harwood, New York University, advised by Ingrid Ellen; and JoopYup Park, Duke University, advised by Patrick Bayer.

The 23rd competition winner and finalists will be recognized at the awards luncheon of the 70th North American Meetings of the RSAI in San Diego, CA. The Committee thanks the 15 students who entered the competition, as well as their dissertation supervisors.

The Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship in Regional Science was established in 1998 in memory of Dr. Benjamin H. Stevens (1929–1997), an intellectual leader whose selfless devotion to graduate students as teacher, advisor, mentor, and friend continues to have a profound impact on the field of Regional Science. Graduate students enrolled in Ph.D. programs in North America are eligible to compete for the Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship in support of their dissertation research in Regional Science.

Faculty at all North American Ph.D. programs are asked to encourage their best students to apply for the 24 th Stevens Graduate Fellowship, which will support the winning student’s dissertation research in the field of Regional Science with a fellowship stipend of $30,000 for the 2024–2025 academic year. The application deadline is February 15, 2024. Full submission guidelines may be found at 

The 2023 Stevens Fellowship competition was overseen by a Selection Committee composed of: Steven Deller, University of Wisconsin, Madison (Chair); Nicholas Nagle, University of Tennessee; Shaoming Cheng, Florida International University; Heather Stephens, West Virginia University; and Zhenhau Chen, The Ohio State University. The Stevens Fellowship Committee administrates the Stevens Fellowship Fund on behalf of the North American Regional Science Council; its members are: Tony Smith, University of
Pennsylvania, Chair; David Plane, University of Arizona, Secretary; Michael Lahr, Rutgers University, Treasurer; Janet Kohlhase, University of Houston; and John Sporing, Executive Director of NARSC.

Fundraising to support the Stevens Fellowship Fund, begun in 1998, is ongoing. Donations may be made either via credit card by accessing the User Area of the NARSC website or by sending a check to: The Stevens Fellowship Fund / First Financial Bank, Attn: Danville Trust Department / One Towne Center / Danville, IL 61832 USA.

About Us

The Regional Science Association International (RSAI), founded in 1954, is an international community of scholars interested in the regional impacts of national or global processes of economic and social change.

Get In Touch

Regional Science Association International
University of Azores, Oficce 155-156, Rua Capitão João D'Ávila, 9700-042 Angra do Heroísmo, Azores, Portugal

Hit Counter

This week30542
This month82138

Saturday, 23 September 2023