Awards & Prizes

Friday, 21 February 2020 11:23

Call for candidatures for the 2020 RSAI Founder's medal

Dear RSAI members,

I hope this email finds you all well.

This year many exciting events are expected in our Association. In a few months (June 2-5) we will celebrate the 13th World Congress of the RSAI. Submissions have passed the 600 threshold and represent authors from 58 Countries, with 39 special sessions submitted from some of the best regional scientists worldwide. Thank you! We all look forward to seeing many of you at the congress venue.

I am also writing you to elicit candidatures (as well as self-nominations) for the 2020 edition of the prestigious RSAI Founder’s Medal. As you probably know, this is among the most importand prizes awarded by the Association, and is bestowed every four years to outstanding regional scientists for outstanding contributions to our discipline. More information on the prize can be found here:

Nominations should be sent within March 27 to the RSAI Executive Director (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.). Candidatures will  then be screened by a committee appointed by the RSAI Council, which consists of Mark Partridge (President); Philip Mc Cann; Lily Kiminami; Andrés Rodrigues Pose; and Dan McMillen. The announcement of the recipient will take place during the next RSAI World Congress in Marrakech.

A written nomination/self-nomination of a candidate for consideration for the RSAI Founder’s Medal should articulate the merit of the nominee for receiving the Founder’s Medal. It must include a detailed statement of the nature of the lifetime contribution a candidate has made to RSAI. The nomination/self-nomination must explain how and why that contribution of the nominee meets the criteria of the RSAI Founder’s Medal outlined below:

  • The recipient should be a senior scholar who has contributed in an important way to the field of Regional Science in a scholarly sense;
  • The recipient should have been active in the RSAI for a sustained period, but not necessarily active at the time of the award; also, the award is not given posthumously;
  • The recipient should be a person with whom many members can identify; his/her contributions could be a major work in one area or many works in several areas;
  • The contribution need not be limited to one type of contribution; it might be theory, method or policy, for example;
  • It is recognized that the native country and language of scholars affect the extent to which they are known by the membership, and an effort should be made to take this into account.

Thank you all in advance for your participation in the process,

Kind regards,

-- -- Andrea CaragliuExecutive Director, Regional Science Association InternationalAssociate Professor of Regional and Urban EconomicsPolitecnico di MilanoABC DepartmentPiazza Leonardo da Vinci, 3220133 Milan (MI)Italy

About Us

The Regional Science Association International (RSAI), founded in 1954, is an international community of scholars interested in the regional impacts of national or global processes of economic and social change.

Get In Touch

Regional Science Association International
University of Azores, Oficce 155-156, Rua Capitão João D'Ávila, 9700-042 Angra do Heroísmo, Azores, Portugal

Hit Counter

This week15361
This month124346

Wednesday, 28 February 2024