Awards & Prizes

Monday, 27 April 2009 00:00

Winner of the Stevens Graduate Fellowship in Regional Science

Elizabeth Mack, Indiana University, Selected to Receive the Tenth Annual Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship in Regional Science
Elizabeth Mack, a doctoral student in geography at the Indiana University has been selected as the winner of the Tenth Annual Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship in Regional Science. The Fellowship will provide a $28,000, one-year stipend to support Mack in her research entitled, “The Impact of Information and Communications Technologies (ICTs) on Knowledge Intensive Firm Location.” Mack’s research is a multi-scalar empirical evaluation of the relative importance of ICTs to firms in knowledge industries, with a focus on broadband technologies. The research will provide an understanding of how future innovations in space-time shrinking technologies, like broadband Internet connections, impact the locational advantages of regional economies and their subsequent future prospects for growth and development. Her research is supervised by Assistant Professor Tony H. Grubesic of the IU Department of Geography.
The Fellowship is awarded in memory of Dr. Benjamin H. Stevens, an intellectual leader whose selfless devotion to graduate students as teacher, advisor, mentor, and friend continues to have a profound impact on the field of regional science. Fundraising efforts to increase the Fellowship’s endowment are ongoing. Donations should be sent to: The Stevens Fellowship Fund, Busey Wealth Management, P. O. Box 260, Champaign, IL 61824-0260 USA. Checks should be drawn to The Stevens Fellowship Fund.
The 2009-10 Stevens Fellowship competition was judged by a Selection Committee composed of: Edward Feser, Urban and Regional Planning, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, chair; Brigitte Waldorf, Agricultural Economics, Purdue University; Edward Coulson, Economics, Penn State University; Cynthia Rogers, Economics, University of Oklahoma; and Lawrence Brown, Geography, Ohio State University. The Stevens Fellowship is administered by a committee on behalf of the North American Regional Science Council; David Boyce serves as Secretary and Michael Lahr as Treasurer.
The Committee thanks all students who entered the competition this year, as well as their thesis supervisors. Faculty at all North American Ph.D. programs are asked to encourage their best students to apply for the Eleventh Annual Stevens Graduate Fellowship, which will support the winning student’s thesis research in the field of Regional Science for the 2010-2011 year with a one-year stipend of $29,000. The application deadline is February 15, 2010. Full submission guidelines are posted at
April 25, 2009


About Us

The Regional Science Association International (RSAI), founded in 1954, is an international community of scholars interested in the regional impacts of national or global processes of economic and social change.

Get In Touch

Regional Science Association International
University of Azores, Oficce 155-156, Rua Capitão João D'Ávila, 9700-042 Angra do Heroísmo, Azores, Portugal

Hit Counter

This week10151
This month57931

Monday, 11 December 2023