Awards & Prizes

Wednesday, 22 July 2009 00:00


The European Investment Bank (EIB)- European Prize in Regional Science was created to recognize the outstanding contribution of scholars to the advancement in regional science and in related spatial area studies. The EIB-European Prize in Regional Science is awarded on the recommendation of an independent jury of six eminent regional scientists, four from Europe, one from the Americas and one from the rest of the world.

The European Prizes in Regional Science were awarded since 2003. Prize winners were Peter Nijkamp, Jean Paelinck, Ake Andersson, Martin Beckmann, Jacques Thisse and Tony Venables.

The jury has decided that the 2009 prize will be awarded to Paul Cheshire, Professor Emeritus of Economic Geography, at LSE, London, for his contributions to among others the economics of land markets, and European urban and regional development.

The awarding ceremony will take place in August 2009 at the ERSA annual Congress in Lodz (Poland).  RSAI would like to add its congratulations to Paul. 

About Us

The Regional Science Association International (RSAI), founded in 1954, is an international community of scholars interested in the regional impacts of national or global processes of economic and social change.

Get In Touch

Regional Science Association International
University of Azores, Oficce 155-156, Rua Capitão João D'Ávila, 9700-042 Angra do Heroísmo, Azores, Portugal

Hit Counter

This week9754
This month57534

Monday, 11 December 2023