The Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship


Graduate Fellowship in Regional Science

Graduate students enrolled in Ph.D. programs in North America are encouraged to apply for the Eighteenth Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship in Regional Science, administered by the North American Regional Science Council of the Regional Science Association International (NARSC-RSAI). This Fellowship, in support of dissertation research in Regional Science, is awarded annually in memory of Dr. Benjamin H. Stevens, an intellectual leader whose selfless devotion to graduate students as teacher, advisor, mentor, and friend had a profound impact on the field. Regional Science is a multidisciplinary field concerned with the theory and method of urban and regional phenomena. Regional Scientists apply theoretical and empirical frameworks and methods of the social and other sciences, as well as develop new ones specifically for regional analysis and policy.

Eligible students should have completed all degree requirements except for their dissertation by the time the Fellowship commences. A requirement of the Fellowship is that the recipient has no duties other than dissertation research during the Fellowship, although the recipient may hold other fellowships concurrently. Applications from students working in any area or any Ph.D. program are welcome as long as their dissertation research addresses a research question in Regional Science.

The Fellowship consists of a stipend in the amount of $30,000 (U.S.), paid over a twelve-month period. Applications for the 2018–2019 Fellowship should be sent electronically by the applicant to the Selection Committee Chair, Professor Mario Polèse, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by the deadline of February 15, 2018.

An application consists of the following materials:

  1. A curriculum vita of no more than two (2) pages in length.
  2. A statement in ten (10) pages or less explaining the questions and issues to be addressed, the approach to be used, and the product expected from the dissertation research, preceded by a summary (1-page maximum) describing the intellectual merit of the proposed research, and the broader impacts that may result. The 10-page limit is inclusive of references, but exclusive of tables and figures. This text should be in 12-point or larger font, double-spaced, with one-inch margins; references may be single-spaced.
  3. Copies of the candidate’s transcripts for all graduate study. Unofficial copies are acceptable.

In addition, the dissertation supervisor shall provide a confidential letter sent separately as an attachment from her/his email account with the student’s name in the subject line to Professor Mario Polèse. In the letter the supervisor should assess the quality and significance of the proposed dissertation research, specify the current state of progress toward the candidate’s degree and provide a commitment by the dissertation supervisor to obtain a tuition waiver for the candidate for the year of the Fellowship. A condition of the Fellowship is the granting of a tuition waiver for the year of the Fellowship by the university, or equivalent payment of the student’s tuition.

Applications should be emailed to Professor Mario Polèse at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Questions may also be sent to him This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. For information about the North American Regional Science Council (NARSC), go to For information about the Regional Science Association International (RSAI), go to

May 13, 2015
Last revised, June 15, 2017

The Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Fellowship in Regional Science was previously awarded to the following students:

  • 2000 Michael J. Greenwald (University of California, Irvine; Marlon Boarnet, advisor)
  • 2001 Rachel Franklin (University of Arizona; Brigitte Waldorf, advisor)
  • 2002 JungWon Son (University of California-Los Angeles; Leobardo Estrada, advisor)
  • 2003 Alison Davis Reum (North Carolina State University; V. Kerry Smith, advisor)
  • 2004 Nicholas Nagle (Univ. of California-Santa Barbara; Stuart H. Sweeney, advisor)
  • 2005 Xiaokun Wang (University of Texas at Austin; Kara Kockelman, advisor)
  • 2006 Joshua Drucker (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; H. Goldstein and E. Feser, advisors)
  • 2007 Alvin Murphy (Duke University; Patrick Bayer, advisor)
  • 2008 Paavo Monkkonen (University of California, Berkeley; David E. Dowall, advisor)
  • 2009 Elizabeth Mack (Indiana University; Tony H. Grubesic, advisor)
  • 2010 Adam Storeygard (Brown University; J. Vernon Henderson, advisor)
  • 2011 Peter Richards (Michigan State University; Robert Walker, advisor)
  • 2012 Ran Wei (Arizona State University; Alan Murray, advisor)
  • 2013  Zhenhua Chen (George Mason University; Kingsley Haynes, advisor)
  • 2014 No Fellowship Awarded
  • 2015 Ahmadreza Faghih Imani ( McGill University; Naveen Eluru, advisor)
  • 2016  Nick Tsivanidis (University of Chicago; Chang-Tai Hsieh, advisor)
  • 2017  Lindsay Relihan (University of Pennsylvania; Gilles Duranton, advisor)

Fundraising in support of the Stevens Fellowship began in 1998, and is ongoing. In recent years, donations were also received in memory of two former colleagues of Benjamin Stevens at the University of Pennsylvania, Thomas Reiner (1931-2007) and Walter Isard (1919-2010). Donations may be sent to: The Stevens Fellowship Fund, First Financial Bank, 1205 S. Neil Street, Champaign, IL 61820 USA. Checks should be drawn to The Stevens Fellowship Fund. Donations may be made online at If the donor desires, a donation made in memory of an individual will be acknowledged on this web page.

Sustaining donations to the Benjamin H. Stevens Graduate Regional Science Fellowship Fund are being made by:

David Boyce

Quaker Hill Foundation

Ronald Miller

Tony and Judith Smith

North American Regional Science Council

Donations in memory of Benjamin Stevens were received from the following individuals:


Luc Anselin

Marcus Berliant

William Beyers

Peter Blair

Roger Bolton

David Boyce

Gerald Carrothers

Manas and Pradipta Chatterji

Benjamin Chinitz†

Leslie Curry†

Stan Czamanski†

Michael Dacey†

Nazir and Nasreen Dossani

Masahisa Fujita

Janet and Shelby Gerking

Arthur Getis

Norman Glickman

Reginald Golledge†

Harvey Goldstein

Peter Gordon

Daniel Griffith

J. W. Harrington

Britton† and Ruth Harris

Walter Isard†

Andrew Isserman†

Laveen Kanal

Maureen Kilkenny

Hugh and Linda† Knox

Robert Kuenne†

Yoshi and Glenn Kumekawa

William Latham

Martin Meyerson†

William Miernyk†

Ronald Miller

Gordon Mulligan

Peter Nijkamp

Anna Nagurney

Charles Perry†

David Plane

Karen R. Polenske

Thomas Reiner†

Adam Rose

Noboru Sakashita†

Tony Smith

Michael Teitz

George Treyz†

Shirley Weiss†

Mike† and Penny Winton

Yimin and Fengxiao Zhuang

Stevens Family Members

Donations in memory of Benjamin Stevens were received from the following organizations:

Blackwell Publishers

Freddie Mac Foundation

Quaker Hill Foundation

Donations were received from the following past recipients of the Stevens Fellowship:

Joshua Drucker

Rachel Franklin

Michael Greenwald

Jung Won Son

† indicates deceased.

Xiaokun Wang
More in this category: « RSPP Annual Referee Award

About Us

The Regional Science Association International (RSAI), founded in 1954, is an international community of scholars interested in the regional impacts of national or global processes of economic and social change.

Get In Touch

Regional Science Association International
University of Azores, Oficce 155-156, Rua Capitão João D'Ávila, 9700-042 Angra do Heroísmo, Azores, Portugal

Hit Counter

This week4969
This month17091

Thursday, 17 January 2019