You are here: HomeOrganisationPresidents


The Regional Science Association was organized in December 1954 at the annual meeting of the Allied Social Science Associations in Detroit, Michigan. The founder of the association was Walter Isard, who served as chairman in the formative years. In 1957 elections were held for the first time. The following is a list of persons who held the office of President, the term and the scholarly field of the president, generally defined as the field of their highest degree.

Presidents, Terms & Fields

Partridge Mark1

Mark Partridge


2019-20, Economics 

(VP 2018)

budy resosudarmo

Budy Resosudarmo


2017-18, Economics

(Jacques Poot, VP 2016)


Andrés Rodríguez-Pose


2015-16, Geography

(VP 2014)


Jean-Claude Thill

Belgium/ USA

2013-14, Public Policy 

(VP, 2012)


Yoshiro Higano



Environmental Science 

(VP 2010) 


Roberta Capello


2009-10, Regional


(VP 2008)


Roger R. Stough


2007-08, Geography

and Environmental


(VP 2006)

 bob stimson

Robert J. Stimson


2005-06, Geography 

(VP 2004)


Antoine Bailly


2003-04, Geography 

(VP 2002)


Geoffrey J.D. Hewings


2001-02, Geography 

(VP 2000) 


Hirotada Kohno


1999-00, Economics 

(VP 1998)


Peter W.J. Batey


1997-98, City Planning 

(VP 1996)


Kingsley E. Haynes


1995-96, Geography

and Environmental


(VP 1994)


Lay J. Gibson


1993-94, Geography

(VP 1992)


Peter Nijkamp


1991-92, Economics 

(VP 1990)

In 1989, the Regional Science Association was reorganized as the Regional Science Association International. Beginning in 1991, Presidents serve two-year terms.

Rodney C. Jensen, Australia, 1989-90, Economics
Rolf Funck, Germany, 1988-89, Economics
Noboru Sakashita, Japan, 1987-88, Economics
David Boyce, USA, 1986-87, Regional Science
Lloyd Rodwin, USA, 1985-86, Regional Planning
Ake Andersson, Sweden, 1984-85, Economics
Allan Pred, USA, 1983-84, Geography
Barclay G. Jones, USA, 1982-83, Economics
Ryszard Domanski, Poland, 1981-82, Geography
Jean Paelinck, Netherlands ,1980-81, Economics
Martin J. Beckmann, USA, Germany, 1979-80, Economics
William Alonso, USA, 1978-79, Regional Science
Per Holm, Sweden, 1977-78, City Planning
Leo H. Klaassen, Netherlands, 1976-77, Economics
Morgan D. Thomas, USA, 1975-76, Geography
Stan Czamanski, USA and Israel, 1975-76, Regional Science
Genpachiro Konno, Japan, 1974-75, Economics
Leon N. Moses, USA, 1972-73, Economics
Kazimierz Dziewoński, Poland, 1971-72, Geography
Gerald A. P. Carrothers, Canada, 1970-71, Regional Planning and Economics
Benjamin Chinitz, USA, 1969-70, Economics
Torsten Hägerstrand, Sweden, 1968-69, Geography
Benjamin H. Stevens, USA 1967-68, Regional Planning and Economics
Britton Harris, USA, 1966-67, City Planning
William Warntz, USA, 1965-66, Geography
Charles L. Leven, USA, 1964-65, Economics
William L. C. Wheaton, USA, 1963-64, Political Science
William L. Garrison, USA, 1962-63, Geography
Edgar M. Hoover, USA, 1961-62, Economics
Edward L. Ullman, USA, 1960-61, Geography
Robert B. Mitchell, USA, 1959-60, City Planning
Walter Isard, USA, 1958-59, Economics
Walter Isard, USA, 1957-58, Economics
Read 69319 times
More in this category: « Minutes Constitution »

Anual Conferences

RSAI Programs 2019

Nurturing new talent 2019

Nurturing new talent 2019   The RSAI aims to continue promoting the development of Regional Science by nurturing new talent in 2018. The council has therefore pledged resources to co-finance worksho...

Building bridges 2019

Building bridges in regional science 2019 conference participation support   The RSAI will facilitate the participation of researchers from low-income and lower-middle-income economies (as defined ...

RSAI Programs Support 2015-2018

RSAI Programs Support 2015 2018 Página 1

Regional Science Main Schools

Photo Gallery

Hit Counter

This week565
This month6304


The Regional Science Association International (RSAI), founded in 1954, is an international community of scholars interested in the regional impacts of national or global processes of economic and social change.

Connect with us


Contact Us

  • RSAI - Regional Science Association International
  • Address: University of Azores, Oficce 155-156, Rua Capitão João D'Ávila, 9700-042 Angra do Heroísmo, Azores, Portugal
  • Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 
  • Website:
  • RSAI Privacy Policy