The Regional Science Association was organized in December 1954 at the annual meeting of the Allied Social Science Associations in Detroit, Michigan. The founder of the association was Walter Isard, who served as chairman in the formative years. In 1957 elections were held for the first time. The following is a list of persons who held the office of President, the term and the scholarly field of the president, generally defined as the field of their highest degree.

Presidents, Terms & Fields

Partridge Mark1

Mark Partridge

USA, 2019-20, Economics 

(VP 2018)

budy resosudarmo

Budy Resosudarmo

Indonesia/Australia, 2017-18, Economics

(Jacques Poot, VP 2016)


Andrés Rodríguez-Pose

Spain/UK, 2015-16, Geography

(VP 2014)


Jean-Claude Thill

Belgium/ USA, 2013-14, Public Policy 

(VP, 2012)


Yoshiro Higano

Japan, 2011-12, Environmental Science 

(VP 2010) 


Roberta Capello

Italy, 2009-10, Regional Economics 

(VP 2008)


Roger R. Stough

USA, 2007-08, Geography and Environmental Engineering 

(VP 2006)

 bob stimson

Robert J. Stimson

Australia, 2005-06, Geography 

(VP 2004)


Antoine Bailly

France/Switzerland, 2003-04, Geography 

(VP 2002)


Geoffrey J.D. Hewings

UK/ USA, 2001-02, Geography 

(VP 2000) 


Hirotada Kohno

Japan, 1999-00, Economics 

(VP 1998)


Peter W.J. Batey

UK, 1997-98, City Planning 

(VP 1996)


Kingsley E. Haynes

USA, 1995-96, Geography and Environmental Engineering

(VP 1994)


Lay J. Gibson

USA, 1993-94, Geography

(VP 1992)


Peter Nijkamp

Netherlands, 1991-92, Economics 

(VP 1990)

In 1989, the Regional Science Association was reorganized as the Regional Science Association International. Beginning in 1991, Presidents serve two-year terms.

Rodney C. Jensen, Australia, 1989-90, Economics
Rolf Funck, Germany, 1988-89, Economics
Noboru Sakashita, Japan, 1987-88, Economics
David Boyce, USA, 1986-87, Regional Science
Lloyd Rodwin, USA, 1985-86, Regional Planning
Ake Andersson, Sweden, 1984-85, Economics
Allan Pred, USA, 1983-84, Geography
Barclay G. Jones, USA, 1982-83, Economics
Ryszard Domanski, Poland, 1981-82, Geography
Jean Paelinck, Netherlands ,1980-81, Economics
Martin J. Beckmann, USA, Germany, 1979-80, Economics
William Alonso, USA, 1978-79, Regional Science
Per Holm, Sweden, 1977-78, City Planning
Leo H. Klaassen, Netherlands, 1976-77, Economics
Morgan D. Thomas, USA, 1975-76, Geography
Stan Czamanski, USA and Israel, 1975-76, Regional Science
Genpachiro Konno, Japan, 1974-75, Economics
Leon N. Moses, USA, 1972-73, Economics
Kazimierz Dziewoński, Poland, 1971-72, Geography
Gerald A. P. Carrothers, Canada, 1970-71, Regional Planning and Economics
Benjamin Chinitz, USA, 1969-70, Economics
Torsten Hägerstrand, Sweden, 1968-69, Geography
Benjamin H. Stevens, USA 1967-68, Regional Planning and Economics
Britton Harris, USA, 1966-67, City Planning
William Warntz, USA, 1965-66, Geography
Charles L. Leven, USA, 1964-65, Economics
William L. C. Wheaton, USA, 1963-64, Political Science
William L. Garrison, USA, 1962-63, Geography
Edgar M. Hoover, USA, 1961-62, Economics
Edward L. Ullman, USA, 1960-61, Geography
Robert B. Mitchell, USA, 1959-60, City Planning
Walter Isard, USA, 1958-59, Economics
Walter Isard, USA, 1957-58, Economics
Read 109453 times
More in this category: « Minutes Budget »

About Us

The Regional Science Association International (RSAI), founded in 1954, is an international community of scholars interested in the regional impacts of national or global processes of economic and social change.

Get In Touch

Regional Science Association International
University of Azores, Oficce 155-156, Rua Capitão João D'Ávila, 9700-042 Angra do Heroísmo, Azores, Portugal

Hit Counter

This week2918
This month16412

Tuesday, 10 December 2019