Print this page

RSAI Young Researchers Prize

Winners 2018

1st Place - Two winners

Dpsita Dhar, Jawaharal Nehru University -"Migration and labor market: a continued case of occupational segregation and caste dominance"

Alexander Lehner, University of Bologna - "450 years of Portuguese colonialism in India: missionaries, education, gender gaps"

2nd Place - Two winners

Deepak Sethia, Indian Institute of Management - "Regional distribution of federal transfers and expenditure in India"

Raya Das, Jawaharal Nehru University - "Low repayment capacity and high indebtedness among agricultural households in India: sustainability of the sector as a source of livelihood"



The RSAI Young Researchers Prize aims to showcase the research of young scholars in regional science through paper presentation and in-depth discussion organized at the Regional Science Association World Congress. Upon acceptance, competing papers will be presented in the RSAI Young Researchers Sessions, where the young scientists will be provided with extra time to present and receive feedback. Every paper will be assigned to a discussant, and the sessions will be chaired by senior researchers.



The first prize winner will receive € 600. A second prize of € 300 will also be awarded. All accepted papers will have a reduced registration fee in the Regional Science World Congress. The funding for the prizes is covered by RSAI.


The RSAI Young Researchers Prize Jury consists of 5 members appointed by the Local Organizing Committee in consultation with the RSAI Executive:

The Chair and the Secretary of the Jury will allocate papers and presentations to other members and, if necessary, will propose other reviewers.

Each Jury Member has one vote in the final selection of prize-winning papers.