Print this page

RSAI Young Researchers Prize


The RSAI Young Researchers Prize aims to showcase the research of young scholars in regional science through paper presentation and in-depth discussion organized at the Regional Science Association World Congress. Upon acceptance, competing papers will be presented in the RSAI Young Researchers Sessions, where the young scientists will be provided with extra time to present and receive feedback. Every paper will be assigned to a discussant, and the sessions will be chaired by senior researchers.



  • All submissions have to be written and presented in English.
  • Applicants should be less than 35 years old on 31 December of the year of the conference and should not yet hold a senior faculty position. In the case of multiple authors this rule applies to all of the authors.
  • The papers should not have been submitted to a journal for publication.
  • A cover page should include the paper's title and abstract and full name, address, telephone number, and e-mail address of all authors. Affiliation to academic institutions should be stated clearly.
  • The papers should be submitted through the World Congress page. The authors should select “RSAI Young Researchers Session” while submitting, in order to be considered for the prize. Papers that are not accepted for RSAI Young Researchers Sessions (when not satisfying all criteria above) will be assigned to ordinary sessions.



The first prize winner will receive € 600. A second prize of € 300 will also be awarded. All accepted papers will have a reduced registration fee in the Regional Science World Congress. The funding for the prizes is covered by RSAI.



The RSAI Young Researchers Prize Jury consists of 5 members appointed by the Local Organizing Committee in consultation with the RSAI Executive:

Carlos R. Azzoni, University of São Paulo, Brazil (Chair of the Jury)

Laurie Schintler, George Mason University, USA

Michael Carroll, University of North Texas, USA

Peter Batey, University of Liverpool, UK

Sumana Bandyopadhyay, University of Calcutta, India (Chair of the LOC)


The Chair and the Secretary of the Jury will allocate papers and presentations to other members and, if necessary, will propose other reviewers.


Each Jury Member has one vote in the final selection of prize-winning papers.